Internal news – July 2019

Evan Healey – Newtons Office Superbru Pool

Congratulations to Evan Healey on winning the Newtons Office Superbru Pool.

Newtons – Mandela Day 2019

It only takes 7 basic colours to make a rainbow. So with 11 official languages, each granted equal status by our Constitution, it’s easy to understand why South Africa is fondly known as the “Rainbow Nation”. With so many beautiful shades, our cultural and ethnic diversity is so rich that often we as South African citizens don’t even understand one another.

We’re sharing some basic greetings and words in South Africa’s 11 official languages because, as our dear Madiba said, when you speak to someone in their mother tongue, you speak straight to their heart.

We divided into teams and each team had one of our National Languages to teach the rest of the office.

isiZulu team:
Bonolo Khunong | Anze Pienaar | Joelene van der Westhuizen | Willie van der Merwe | IC Marais | Lucky Kabase

isiXhosa team:
Jason van Tonder | Beatrice Otto | Karin Poolman | Desiree Vosloo | Icy Jooste | Angelicah Mailane

Afrikaans team:
Schalk Gouws | Lucha L. Greyling | Marie van der Merwe | Marlene van Zyl | Dineo Khetsane | Evan Healey

Sepedi team:
Danie Saayman | Maria Kganare | Marioliscke Hayward | Anné Gouws | Schalk Vorster

Setswana team:
Elrico Greyvenstein | Jo-Mari Koorsen | Melanie van der Merwe | Isaac Adam

Sesotho team:
Mareli Swart | Jené Lotter | Nikita da Silva Maia | Charne Karstel | Monica Pakkies

Tshivenda team:
Baudene Simpson | Elzobia Steenkamp | Tineke Erasmus | Amoré Rosslee | Wayne Nortje

isiNdebele team:
Norman du Plooy | Ruan Schmidt | Brendan Venter | Leanette Schoeman | Zander Meyer

siSwati team:
Joseph Adam | Teddy Monare | Thelma Oertel | Jane Motshabi | Arné Nel

Xitsonga team:
Nirvard Alberts | Tiaan Terblanche | Angelique Fouche | Vivian Ntlati | Liezl Du Plessis




We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to browse, you agree to our use of cookies

IC Marais

Professional experience:

IC Marais is a certified CA (SA) with public sector and private sector technical knowledge based on 5 years’ Public Sector accounting, auditing and financial management experience and 5 years audit, tax and accounting experience. Detailed knowledge of private and public sector accounting and auditing standards (GRAP, IPSAS, IFRS, IAS, ISA) and public sector financial legislation (MFMA, etc.)

He enjoys the outdoors, hunting and fishing.


Professional experience:

In 1995, Schalk started as a trainee at Warner and Newton (which became Moores Rowland in 1997 and then Mazars Moores Rowland in 2007) in Bloemfontein. In 1998, Schalk was appointed as manager at Moores Rowland, where he became a partner in 2003. Schalk received his Postgraduate Certificate in Advanced Taxation in 2006 and in 2009 he received his Certificate in the Administration of Estates.


Professional experience:

Cedric started as a trainee at Warner and Newton (which became Moores Rowland in 1997 and Mazars Moores Rowland in 2007), Bloemfontein, in 1986. After completion of his articles, he joined the Special Investigations Division of the Department of Finance (SA Revenue Services) as a senior inspector from 1990 to 1991.


Professional experience:

Lucha started her career as a tax inspector at the Inland Revenue Department of New Zealand. After this she worked in commerce in Canada, Mexico and the United States.

On her return to South Africa, she completed her CA training contract with us and has been with Newtons ever since. She became a Partner in 2012.

Apart from her CA(SA) qualification she also holds a postgraduate certificate in Advanced Taxation (2005) and has the overall responsibility for training as our Training Officer.